This is Where I Leave You

I picked up this bookWGLU2014 as part of my book to movie challenge. One day I was searching through my TBR list, reading the synopsis on books to decide on what to read next. I landed on this book for a couple reasons. The first, is that it will help in my book to movie challenge this year. The second, is that I was hoping for some laughs after reading the synopsis.

“This is Where I Leave You” is an odd duck of a book. The story line followed the members of the Foxmans, particularly Judd, the narrator of the story. At the time that it takes place the family is grieving over the loss of their husband and father. During the grieving process we are shown what makes this family so dysfunctional.

What makes this such an odd duck of a book for me would be the combination of the weird storyline and the author’s writing style. As I was reading, in some ways it played in my head sort of like a movie would, minus the buttery popcorn to snack on. This was in part because most everything was associated with the time it took place, which would be listed at the beginning like a header. The drawback for this was that there were a few spots I was left confused. I would finish a page on my Kindle, expecting there to be more, and when I turned the page the time changed. I actually went back to make sure I wasn’t missing something, because I was confused. It seemed like there would have been more writing on what was happening rather than a time jump to the next thing.

I did get some entertainment from this book, but it was hard to get much from it. Sure, aspects of the story may have been entertaining, or just messed up, so I had to keep reading to find out what would happen, but that was about all it had. I honestly feel like the plot for the most part was missing from this book. It was fairly easy to figure out where the story line would end, but I was curious about what the characters would be like compared to the beginning of the story, which wasn’t much of a difference.

“This is Where I Leave You” is a book I would recommend for somebody looking for entertainment involving grief and a dysfunctional family being forced to be together for the first time in years. If the reader doesn’t need much for a plot it’s even better. Honestly, the plot did feel empty to me. I would classify this as a mediocre tale, that would probably make a better movie.

3 thoughts on “This is Where I Leave You”

Leave a Reply

