Bad Feminist 

I chose this book to go with my month theme of reading books written by woman. This has allowed me to expand my reading outside of my comfort zone, while discovering some talented authors.

“Bad Feminist” is the first book I have read that was a collection of essays, allowing me to step outside of my reading comfort zone. From this I learned this style of writing is not for me. However, I did still find bits of it entertaining.

When I first started this book, I was excited to see what was in store for me as a reader. There were some topics I felt like I identified with Roxanne Gay, others where she opened up my eyes to new ideas, and I even learned a few new things. However, as I continued to read the essays I began to lose interest. I just didn’t feel captured as a reader throughout the entire book.

I think the biggest drawback for me was that I felt like I could put this book down, read another one, and then pick it up like I didn’t miss anything in the mean time. I felt like there was a lot of jumping from one essay to the next with no rhyme or reason to it besides it being what the author wanted.

Leave a Reply

