My Life on the Road

To be honest, I chose this book at random by sitting in front of my bookshelf trying to figure out what to read next. After enjoying “Love Warrior”, I decided to go with another book written by a woman. I am happy with my choice.

I thoroughly enjoyed reading “My Life on the Road”. The words flowed with each section of the book connecting. In the introduction, Gloria Steinem encourages the reader to spend some time traveling. As I sat there reading her stories about the people she met, and some of the places she visited, it awakened my desire to travel. The experiences that she described were incredible, and the places sounded beautiful. I think it would be hard not to be influenced by the beauty of her stories.

“My Life on the Road” left me with a few lessons. The first lesson is to find something that ignites a passion within you, and to do something that you enjoy. Another important lesson is to spend time in a place that leaves you with a feeling of belonging. For Gloria Steinem, her interest seemed to be in being an organizer. This lead to her meeting so many amazing people, and sharing such wonderful stories in this book. My guess is her passion, or at least main interest, is in equality for everybody, race or gender makes no difference.

I’m not sure I can recommend this book enough. When they say books have the power to change people, this one should be included. “My Life on the Road” is an example of a book that moves the reader.

Leave a Reply

